Just Taking a Walk

My children and I. No, I'm not ashamed to be a baby-wearer.

We (my family) took a walk yesterday after dinner, offering me another opportunity to abuse our camera. I have found a great deal of spiritual benefit from paying attention to nature, in cases both obviously dynamic and those that are seemingly static. On this particular occasion, I found it interesting to consider that even something that seems quite ordinary and simple is teeming with unseen activity and constantly in a state of change. Plants, especially this time of year, are starting to blossom and bring forth leaves, while something as aloof as a cloud can be amazing if we just take a moment to think about it.

Michelle and Aly, resting after our walk.

Much like our recently born baby, these plants are experiencing a sort of rebirth. At a cellular level, many seemingly mundane life forms are berserk with activity, especially at this time of the year. Later these same plants will fall into the same stages of decay as all life in our realm, eventually succumbing to death. All the while, raving mad with unseen changes, never remaining the same from one second to another in time.

Our son, bright and cheerful.

In addition to my thoughts, I have realized I really enjoy taking photos, even if many (okay, most) of them end up being out of focus and lack any real context. Another wonderful thing about digital cameras — you can keep shooting and never run out of film.

So I took 99 pictures yesterday (not all of them related to nature, but most). I figured I could take a moment and share a few here.

Flower pretending to be a sun, methinks.

Brightly shining through the branches.

Tree and Cloud discuss the weather.

Mindfulness is ever praised.

White flowery chaos!

"I'm quite plain today, but wait a few weeks -- see how I look then."

"I'll just be on my way, now..."

It is really interesting to just open one’s eyes and realize how much beauty can be found just in your own neighborhood.

Anyway, in case anyone is interested in using any of these photos, I welcome you to do so. You may find the highest-resolution versions here, and 800 x 600 size here.

Thank you for reading, friends. I will post again soon. Be mindful; be well.

8 comments

  1. Completely and totally adorable. And sweet. And precious. And of course awesome. 🙂

    1. Thank you very much for saying so. 🙂

  2. Dennis Beyer · · Reply

    David you’re a great photographer, these pictures are great!

    1. Thank you for saying so, Denny. I like to think I’m good at it, but I also don’t like to assume too much. Ha!

  3. They are really great photos – and I love the captions with them as well. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  4. […] posted earlier this week in Just Taking a Walk that my family took a walk Sunday afternoon, taking pictures and simply enjoying the weather. While […]

  5. This is a great post. I really want to mess around with my dad’s camera now…

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

