Being Thankful

I went to work today (today being Tuesday still, because I haven’t gone to bed yet), much like any other day, after having read posts on the several blogs that I follow. Like any other occasion, I found that these blogs had given me things to think about, or at the very least, raised my awareness of things that I generally don’t seem to notice in life.

For instance, while I tend to be thankful towards people who I meet daily, but I rarely think to thank people who enrich my life without ever meeting me. Something as simple as saying “thank you” seems to be it’s own reward for me, and I imagine most people who would bother to be thankful for things would find it as beneficial as I. For example, I recently discovered the musical compositions of Margot Reisinger, and it crossed my mind that, sure, I thanked her by purchasing one of her albums (via Amazon) but I never actually thanked her personally. How often do we get that sort of opportunity?

Oddly enough, she has a Facebook page for her music, so I thanked her there. Go figure. I wonder how many musicians or composers get a “thank you” for doing what they love to do? Hmm….

And on a more base level, what about the people at the supermarket where we buy our groceries? How often do we take the time to say thank you (and really mean it) to the many people there who toil endlessly so we can put cheap food into your fridge? How about the farmers that help grow that food? Or maybe the animals that gave their lives so that we might sustain ours? Just things to think about…

Further, and on a much lighter note, it crossed my mind that while writing on here I have yet to share any of the other blogs I’m reading with those who take time out of their busy schedules to read mine. As such, it seemed fitting that I say thank you, first, to those of you who read my blog, and secondly, to those of you who nearly-daily give me something new to think about.

And so, my list of noteworthy blogs for tonight:

Thanks to each one of these (and others), I have plenty of things to think about throughout the day that I might otherwise have not considered on my own. Thank you.

I also want to say thank you to my wonderful wife, who also started blogging recently (see Hypercello). Not only does she put up with me, but her blogging offers me a little more insight into things at home while I spend so much of my day at work.  Thank you, Love.

So tonight I challenge you to thank someone for something, not just the same people you are already good at thanking, but someone who you tend to forget to thank for their efforts. Thank them earnestly, even if they’ll never know it. Maybe there is just something to be said for the positive energy of having been thankful at all.

Thank you all. I hope you each are well and are at peace. Much metta, friends.

6 comments

  1. Wow, I am really touched. Sincerely – thank you. That was so kind.

    I am a big believing in saying thank you. And I really say it from my heart when I am grateful to someone. For even something as simple as good customer service (which is getting rarer these days). Or products that I enjoy. I have recently started emailing companies to say thank you. Even the big ones like Lipton ;-). And Woolworths. And yes I did get a response from both 🙂

    1. Your very welcome. 🙂

  2. PS Will definitely be checking out those other blogs you mentioned – I am always on the lookout for new ones 🙂

  3. A great reminder that we are all working on this journey together regardless of the path…thank you…

  4. I am honored! Thank you so very much for including me in this post.

    A thank you is something that benefits both the giver and the receiver in so many ways. The world certainly needs more people who are appreciative of its wonder.

    Namaste!

  5. Great Post! Living with gratitude truly does allow one to live through honoring all things! I believe its a path that brings insight and happiness

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

