Lesson on Siddhartha Gotama

I may not have mentioned it since I moved to WordPress, but my wife and I homeschool our seven year old. We use the curriculum provided by K12; basically a online “virtual school.” I could say a little more about that, but I think I’ll save that for another post.

This year, I was a little surprised as we got into our history lessons to find that so many religions are discussed — it has sorta been the year of “intro to other religions” for Dalton. We’ve covered the religions of ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, and even spent a couple days on Judaism and Hinduism. I was additionally pleased to see, as we started the India unit, two lessons on Buddhism.

In the last couple months, I have struggled with finding a reasonable way to introduce Buddhism to our son without it seeming like I was trying to convert him or something, and this has offered precisely that opportunity. Today he learned about Siddhartha Gotama and the story of his life from birth up to his enlightenment. Sure, it is condensed in a manner that gets the whole story into a one-hour class and is set up at a first-grade level, but I don’t really need to do much more than that anyway. Dalton seemed to catch the major points very well, and it at least helped me educate him a little on what I’ve been reading.

Tomorrows lesson is titled “Asoka and the Spread of Buddhism,” and I have a feeling that even I will find something new as we go through it. Perhaps I’ll have something on which to do further research on my own time, as I really don’t know anything about Asoka except that Civilization IV includes him as one of the two leader options when playing India. It should be interesting, I’m sure.

I must keep this brief, as I should probably be getting prepared for work. Be well, and I will post again soon.

One comment

  1. I wish I could have learned more about current religions in school. The only religions other than Christianity that were discussed ever were the ones from ancient cultures that are generally not practiced today.

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

