Quiet on Monday, Chaos on Tuesday

Monday I had the unusual occasion of having a lighter-than-average day at work. From time to time this happens, but the day was made more bizarre by the fact that many people I associate were off work for the day. The combination of people off left the team leaders a little disorganized, which further led the remaining leads to be too busy to bother me about anything.

This all came together in a way that permitted me some excess time to observe my thoughts as I performed my duties. That, and extra quiet time on breaks to read, as no one sat with me. Suffice to say, as much as I like my coworkers, the opportunity to sit quietly was actually quite enjoyable.

Tuesday evening, however, was quite the opposite. More than twice as much work landed in my “department” and quite a bit of it was related to products requiring much more research than usual. Thankfully, I had help (unlike Monday) but I must admit that I sorta missed all the quiet time.

I think it is really easy to forget that we actually need quiet time. Even those of us who don’t make a regular routine of meditating can benefit from even a few minutes a day to just try to clear the mind. Seems that seeing the contrast between yesterday and today really brought this to my attention, and it is something that I don’t intend to forget.

So sure, I enjoy my friends at work, but I think I’m seeing the benefits to simple quietness that many people around me do not see. I may have to consider dedicating one of my breaks as “daily quiet time.” Do you have a pre-scheduled “quiet time” routine? If so, do your friends think it is strange? Do you care? Ha!

I hope you are well tonight. With much metta, my friends.

One comment

  1. Dennis Beyer · · Reply

    Unfortunately other than my drive to and from work I spend most of the time I would be able to have as quiet time sleeping 🙂

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

