Out with Old Pipes, In with New

I posted a few days ago about our plumbing issue, resulting in a defunct bathtub. One of my wife’s friends came over and assessed our problem and decided that it was something he could fix, and for the price of supplies and dinner at Steak N’ Shake, we were happy to have him do just that on Saturday.

Here’s what the problem ended up being:

The "junk" after removal.

The above-shown length of galvanized pipe, originally 1 1/2 inch internal diameter, after over an hour of auguring, opened up to be about 1/4 inch internal diameter, the result of decades of corrosion. This explains not only the recent persistent clog, but all of the prior [easier] clogs and the slow draining condition that existed since the day we moved into the house.

The end result of Saturday's work.

If it isn’t obvious, the job required the cutting of the metal pipes, a task I’m ill equipped to do because I don’t own tools capable of such a feat. Honestly, I’m not entirely certain if I even own a hacksaw. Michelle’s friend, Aaron, used a tool conveniently called a “sawzall” to cut both the old galvanized pipe for removal and the plastic pipe to the right size for installation. A heck of a tool, that is for sure.

The bathtub once again works exactly as it was intended and the only leak so far was a minor one requiring a bit of tightening.

After all this (and showers for everyone), it was only appropriate that we try to thank Aaron and his family for helping us. We ended up treating them to Steak N’ Shake, an apparent favorite for his wife.

I think I learned a few things through the process, and if I had the funds to purchase a few new tools I could probably manage to do something like this again if I had to. I feel like the learning experience was meaningful, and I kinda feel like I made a new friend.

I’ve said it in person already, but thank you again, Aaron, for all your work.

Thank you for reading today, friends. I hope you are all at peace.

3 comments

  1. One of my favorite people once said, “turn a problem into a project.” Sounds like you did this weekend and earned an awful lot! And, hooray for good friends who help out in trade for dinner at their spouses’ favorite restaurants.

  2. Dennis Beyer · · Reply

    Seems like the type of project I’d be calling my dad for lol, with the set understanding that he is to point and instruct as much as possible as to not aggravate a number of injuries that he doesn’t notice he has aggravated until a number of hours later (aka he’s getting older and doesn’t want to admit it). Fortunately he works for equal rates to your friend 🙂

    1. I guess it is nice to have skilled friends and family, huh? Ha!

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

