Love of Reading (and Writing)

My son has always been big on reading and he loves to think up and tell stories. His handwriting practice (for school) certainly demonstrates this famaliarity with written words, and his recent testing scores his reading at a speed somewhere close to five-times the average speed for children his age.

He’s been particularly interested of late in writing a book, and even managed to staple and tape together his own 30 page book this week without any help from us. He’s been writing in it daily ever since.

His reading and writing habits are such that when we tell him that he needs to clean his room, as much as half of the mess can be attributed to books and writing papers. He has two small bookcases that live in his room and a larger one in our classroom and has his own library card with which he regularly borrows books.

So last night and today I decided I’d help him out with his writing. I spent a little time with the bookbinding supplies that I used a couple months ago to create my daily reading texts and put together a 6 by 2 1/2 inch, 54 page (front and back) book for him to write his next story.

The book incorporates an entirely new binding design I came up with (again, using a recycled cereal box) that takes up less materials but appears to remain strong enough to put up with rougher use than my other books generally do as they are not used by a child. Of course, I’ll find out soon enough if I’m right about that, won’t I?

Additionally, I included lined paper (so he can keep his writing straightened out) and plain white pages at regular intervals to allow space for illustrations. He chose the cover colors from a stock of paper my wife and I have accumulated and seems pretty happy with the finished product.

He tells me he isn’t sure what he’ll write in it, but I look forward to reading it. Maybe later I share a bit of it if he lets me.

An update on Shyla’s condition will be coming soon, as she has returned to the vet but should come home again tomorrow. Thanks for reading, and please be well, friends.

One comment

  1. this is a great place to web ideas…working with writing in a virtual way…http://prezi.com/index/

    smart blog! thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

