New Reading Material; Continued Progress

This week I’ve managed to make a few additions to my reading materials and I thought I’d take a moment and share.

First, though, I can report continued progress on the Majjhima and Digha Nikayas, of which I’ve read 450 pages so far. Very mentally challenging, interesting reads. Further, I completed The Threefold Lotus Sutra, which was my “at work, on breaks” book, so I had to decide on what would replace it.

So, Sunday. I made a drive to Half Price Books and found a copy of Thich Nhat Hanh’s Living Buddha, Living Christ. I’ve seen this one on Amazon a few times and have really been looking forward to reading it, so I couldn’t resist when I found it at a discounted price (and could have it that day).

But that isn’t all.

Last week I wrote to Metta Forest Monastery and requested a couple of books which I had read portions of on accesstoinsight.org. I expected there would be some sort of printing fee or a “suggested donation” to cover their costs, so I asked that they reply to me and let me know what was appropriate.

Yesterday, I received a box that not only included the two books I requested (The Patimokkha and and Khandhaka rules) but another book titled Meditations, which is a collection of 40 of Venerable Thanissaro’s Dhamma Talks.

Thank you, Metta Forest Monastery!

I wanted to make sure that I mentioned this today, not just because it is a new, very interesting addition to my text collection, but also (the foremost reason) because of their freely sharing the dhamma to those who ask for it. No matter how you look at it, it costs money to produce books like these and ship them across the country (and who knows where else). I am very grateful for this act of generosity on their part, and I hope I can forward that generosity and compassion on to others in like spirit.

For those who may not recall, I jump started my reading habits in April starting small with a goal to read 4 pages per day. I considered it a sort of mental “home improvement project” and, just looking at the Nikayas I’ve been working on, I’ve far surpassed the original goal. I think it is safe to say that even a former non-reader like myself, if determined, can go straight to the suttas and make daily progress.

I hope all of your self-improvement projects are so fruitful, my friends, and that you are at peace.  Be well, and I will write again soon.

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

