Genuinely Amused

For a while now I’ve been trying to work out the financial issue of picking up a new PC to replace the one we has stopped using (due to reliability issues), and on Sunday I managed to swing a deal on an E-machines PC that I think will meet our needs. In the meantime, we had been using a computer we acquired through the homeschooling organization we are part of, so it wasn’t really “ours.”

Well, as I said, I got a fair deal on an E-machines and hooked it all up and had no issues, so I went through the motions of making a backup and recovery disc and then started installing the software we use. At the end, after becoming fairly confident that the PC was going to do what we wanted, I cracked open the case to install my graphics card.

Mind you, the graphics card isn’t anything special… but it is enough to play Civilization V comfortably, as well as others as long as you don’t expect miracles. Suffice to say, it is better than integrated graphics and cost me less than $50 three years ago.

Everything was working great when I went to work, but when I returned home and booted the PC, the cooling fan on the card started whining.

Yes, I’m genuinely amused at the situation. A year ago I might have started swearing and grumbling in general about it, but today I find it quite funny this newest illustration of impermanence in life. It is a subject of contemplation that I think we too often try to forget.

Nothing lasts forever folks, especially the things we just take for granted. Keep your mind set right with the idea that things will change. Remember to not sweat the small stuff, and that pretty much everything that irritates you is just small stuff. Laugh it off and move on, and you’ll enjoy life a heck of a lot more.

I hope you are well this evening and are finding amusement in something, no matter how serious it could be.

6 comments

  1. Dennis Beyer · · Reply

    Thanks for the reminder on the small stuff. I had a particularly bad day computer wise (the computers at work would better serve their purpose as paper weights) and I had at least attempted to use 5 computers today and that one was slow enough that a customer hung up on me. I was pretty upset and still fuming about the whole day hours later. Your post reminded me that we don’t really have control over things like that and in the end it really is small. Not that I never mind insight of piece of mind from your posts… but this one in particular did so, thanks 🙂

    1. You are quite welcome. I’m glad the thought was helpful, my friend!

  2. change, impermanence and karma…all good things to contemplate eh 🙂

  3. Karma Rinchen Tashi · · Reply

    A lovely reminder to avoid taking myself to seriously too is a help today, thanks!

  4. Just what I needed to read. Nicely said.

    1. Thank you for saying so, friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

