Broken Politics

I opened this blog in February and have done a fairly good job of avoiding political posts… but every once in a while I am not opposed to bending that rule in order to attempt to make a point.

Below I’ve enbedded a clip of news video broadcast by one of the local television stations last night.


http://www.fox19.com/story/19479204/reality-check-dnc-runs-over-delegates-with-scripted-platform-vote

After watching the video, I’ll admit that I am absolutely baffled at how anything could be determined by a verbal vote, much less to the level of specificity for “two-thirds majority” to be established. Then, to find out that the speakers are reading the result off of a teleprompter?  This is dirty stuff, friends.

Even the Democratic speaker seemed surprised at it all… and if he had walked off, refusing to read it, I would have had a lot of respect for him having done so.

As I pointed out a moment ago, I have remained generally neutral on politics for a while now. This stems from the fact that I generally find politics to be a subject that brings about anger in my mind, and so I try to avoid it. In this case, while some anger is there, I feel that less than I do simple disappointment and dissolution. If this is the way our political system is going to work, it is a good thing that I don’t want anything to do with it.

Such underhanded practices committed in that setting can only get worse, eventually pre-determining national elections (if they don’t already).

I think, at this point, that I will happily maintain my refusal to participate in the obviously broken political system until a candidate forces his way to opportunity without the backing of mega-commercial entities and dirty political parties. Sure, some could say that I’m just making the problem worse, but the fact is that voting for any of the options presented to the American public at large is going to do nothing useful.

Remain ever mindful of the things going on around you, my friends. If you vote, vote well and consider the outcome. May you find your options more fruitful. If you, like me, do not vote, may we together offer our goodwill to those who end up running our country in hopes that they may eventually see a brighter, better path on which to tread.

Be well; I will write again soon.

One comment

  1. Dennis Beyer · · Reply

    You can hear the people voting especially in the affirmative at the DNC becoming irritated that the vote keeps having to be redone. What moron decided that you can tell anything from a mass verbal voting like that?

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

