Glad it is Over

Oh how I’m glad it is over.

Or at least mostly over, anyway. Of course, I’m referring to the election process, which has for months dominated pretty much everything on which one could possibly slap an advertisement.

People may recall that I’ve taken a stand on politics that is somewhat irregular. I’ve restrained myself from debating all but the most basic matters, and I’ve certainly not tried to persuade anyone from voting for whatever inspires them. On a more official level, I’ve refrained from participation in the process this year by refusing to read or watch any of the political ads, refusing to research the candidates beyond the most basic points of curiosity, and ultimately in refusing to vote.

Some people will tell me that this somehow invalidates any opinions I have on politics — that I’m “not allowed to complain,” but I will, of course, continue to exercise my first amendment rights regardless of my choice to absolve myself of a system I see as patently broken, mismanaged, and impossible to fix. And why do I think it is impossible to fix? I’ll break it down:

  1. The system is designed in a way that makes it bipolar – you may choose option A or option B, but if you choose any other option you are basically casting a “discard” vote.
  2. Most voters seem to be OK with the first point, or if they aren’t, they refuse to take a stand on the matter!
  3. The politicians in power or seeking power are out of touch with the people. None of them are middle-class wage-earners, and none of them will support the sort of electoral reform that the average person really wants because it would be against their own personal interests.

There was a time when, as it pertains to politics, I called myself a Constitutionalist. I emphasized the idea that if it wasn’t written in the Constitution, the Federal Government shouldn’t be able to get involved with it and the matter should be in the jurisdiction of the States.

I’ve realized in the last year, however, that adhering too strongly to such rigid ideas is not only another form of closed-minded idealism, but is also damaging spiritually. It brings rise to anger and results in the use of verbal daggers against others who do not share the same view. While I cannot yet always be entirely open to new political ideas, I can at least admit that all of my preconceived notions may be wrong (or at least unnecessary) and slowly work my way through letting go of them. And in the meantime, I refuse to reduce myself to political bickering.

So, here I bid adieu to another general election. Maybe in 2014 or 2016 I will have a more balanced, middle view of the whole thing and decide to vote, but I promise nothing.

To those of you who voted, regardless of your political lean, may your ballots have been cast in earnest, counted fairly, and may our country prosper. May there be well-being.

Thank you, friends. I will write again soon.

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

