Thank you Michelle

Thank you.

Every once in a while, it just feels like the right thing to say, right?

As some may recall, over the last couple of months I’ve made a bit of a routine of visiting this Vietnamese Buddhist Temple a few miles from home. Every Sunday, after the service, the group sits down together for a lunch, and last Sunday, my wife joined me for that lunch.

This may seem like a small thing, but I feel like it offers some sort of legitimacy to the spiritual path I’ve adopted. She could be stubborn; refuse to talk about religion or spirituality at all with me and leave me to do it entirely on my own, but she instead chose the route of tolerance, respect, and appreciation.

She didn’t obstinately make me feel like an alien because of our differences; she chose to embrace our similarities and promote the positive aspects that are truly the foundation that keeps our marriage, and family, healthy.

I cannot express how much I appreciate this small gesture on her part. Thank you for being there for me. I am truly blessed to have so understanding a partner.

To all of my friends: May you all have the good fortune to associate with wise people who try to understand and work with you, even after accounting for your differences. Be well.

7 comments

  1. You are welcome Love! I enjoyed meeting your new friends, and I look forward to joining you there again sometime soon. 🙂

  2. Excellence! What a warm family! May you all be Well and Happy! with metta

    1. And you too, friend! 🙂

  3. Dennis Beyer · · Reply

    Michelle has always been one of the most accepting and understanding people I have the pleasure of knowing. Even in high school she was more accepting of people who were considered “different” than anyone else I knew. I don’t think I need to say you’re a lucky man! (not to sell my own wife short, I know I am a lucky man too 🙂 )

    1. Our wives are both certainly worthy of high praise — the fact that they deal with us is proof enough I think. 🙂

  4. Lovely! So nice to express your gratitude, as it role models outward how important this is to do with our nearest and dearest 🙂

    1. No doubt about it. Thank you for saying so!

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

