Versatile Blogger Award

Hello again, friends.

This morning I hopped online to find a little surprise awaiting for me: My blog has been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by UndeadDad. His is one of the blogs I’ve come to follow in the 16 or so months since I joined the WordPress Community, and I really appreciate the nomination as well as his continued “explorations of mindful fatherhood,” as he puts in.

Now it is my honor to nominate a number of other blogs for the award. Out of the 90 blogs I currently follow, I have selected ten (I’m going to follow UndeadDad’s lead; 15 seems like an overwhelming number to me). To my knowledge, none of these blogs have received any similar award nominations recently, and each of them post regularly and thoughtfully.

In no particular order, I nominate:

  1. Gigi Wanders
  2. Born Again Buddhist
  3. How to Practice Zen
  4. Buddha Journey
  5. bodhisattvaintraining
  6. Cattāri Brahmavihārā
  7. sloppybudhhist
  8. A Jug Fills Drop By Drop
  9. Great Middle Way
  10. born by a river

If you find reading my blog useful, I have no doubt that you’ll relate to most of these if you give them a look-see.

Now I suppose I’m going to have to write a few things about myself. I don’t really like writing about myself anymore as a general rule because I feel like doing so pretty much lets loose the wild ego. Writing about my family, spirituality, or other such topics is one thing (when in the right context), but too much thinking, writing, or talking about “me” just for the sake of it just feels wrong.

My wife and I have two children and I’m content with this — I figure my wife and I have replaced ourselves in the scheme of world population in this way. One of my “family” goals is to be 50 years old and both of our children be moved out or at least in college. If we involve ourselves with more kids, it will have to be in a foster-care or adoption sort of arrangement.

I have had a real problem with snacking lately… probably partially a result of stress associated with the passing of my Dad. My favorite snack of late has been chocolate morsels — straight out of the bag. I haven’t gained enough weight to worry about it yet, but I’m starting to think about it…

Maybe I’m splitting hairs, but that’s technically at least 7 things, so I’m going to leave it at that for now.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Vesak, or Phật Đản, or Memorial Day weekend — or just a great weekend anyway if you didn’t observe any of those. May you be well, and I will write again soon.

5 comments

  1. I don’t know what chocolate morsels are but I’m betting I’d like them.
    Thanks for passing this one friend – nice surprise, I just came to read your post and there I am 🙂
    Enjoyed Vesak / SakaDawa and hope you did too and are starting to feel a bit better after your Dad’s passing..

    1. You know those itty-bitty chocolate pieces used for baking chocolate chip cookies? Those things. Ha!

      While the challenges of Dad passing are not entirely done, I think I feel a lot better today than I did last week. Thank you, friend.

      1. Oh yes – they’re tiny so a handful doesn’t count 🙂

        My uncle passed end of last week as well…interesting times.

      2. Goodness, I am sorry to hear of your loss as well, friend.

      3. Thank you – not as close as yours though, and he was old, and ready..

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

