Father’s Day

While most families will observe Father’s Day tomorrow, we have elected to do so today in most respects. Sundays are usually consumed by our religious observances (church and temple visits), so it just makes sense to do it this way, I suppose.

Today I’ve not done much of anything, while my wife and son have made offerings of Coke and chocolate as a sign of their appreciation of me. It has been gratifying, but I have tried to not let it go to my head. As I type this on my Dad’s iPad, my son and I are watching the second part of “Best of Both Worlds,” an episode of Star Trek: the Next Generation which as always been among my favorites and has apparently is one of Dalton’s as well. Michelle has gone out to refill our propane tank in order to fulfill my [admittedly selfish] desire for bacon, burgers, and sausages.

Dalton even decided to spend a little of his own money on a small gift for me, pictured below.

20130615-145157.jpg
My thoughts drift occasionally to my own father, so recently passed on, but I haven’t dwelled on the matter so much as to bring me down. No one benefits from that anyway, right? And, as others have said before, he wouldn’t want me to sulk either. He is missed, though, and that is ok.

I hope you all are having a great day. Offer your father your love, always. Be well, and I will write again soon.

3 comments

  1. Dennis Beyer · · Reply

    I do believe that is the final episode of that particular series. One of my favorites as well.

    Have you seen the new movies? Definitely worth the watch.

    1. Yep, and I especially liked Into Darkness even with the twisting of the Khan story. 🙂

  2. Sadhu!

    The mother and father are the East, The Teachers are the South, Wife and Children are the West, The friends and associates are the North. Servants and employees are the Nadir, The ascetics and brahmans are the Zenith; Who is fit to lead the household life, These six quarters he should salute. Who is wise and virtuous, Gentle and keen-witted, Humble and amenable, Such a one to honor may attain. Who is energetic and not indolent, In misfortune unshaken, Flawless in manner and intelligent, Such a one to honor may attain. Who is hospitable, and friendly, Liberal and unselfish, A guide, an instructor, a leader, Such a one to honor may attain. Generosity, sweet speech, Helpfulness to others, Impartiality to all, As the case demands. These four winning ways make the world go round, As the linchpin in a moving car. If these in the world exist not, Neither mother nor father will receive, Respect and honor from their children. Since these four winning ways The wise appraise in every way, To eminence they attain, And praise they rightly gain.
    The Layperson’s Code of Discipline

    _()_

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

