Friday Night Ramble

Warning: A ramble post is forthcoming:

Things get quiet on the blog from time to time, but at least it isn’t because there are problems.

In fact, I’ve been busy playing Civ IV with my wife most of the time when I might have thought of writing, so it kinda makes sense that I wouldn’t be writing if I’m playing.

My wife and I have always been a little addicted to Civ, and I’m not really sure why, but now that she has a laptop of her own again it was only natural that we’d pop our Civ discs in and see if we still knew how to play. Some may recall that our son also plays the game, although I’m pretty sure he prefers the newer Civ V to the older game.

My wife and I play the older edition of the game primarily because we happen to have two completely legal copies… and because it plays better on our machines. We don’t have powerhouse gaming PCs or anything like that and the newer game just doesn’t play smoothly.

Tonight our son is out on his first-ever sleepover at a friend’s house, and as I understand it he is having a great time. The family he is with is also going to be taking him to Disney in Florida later this year, something that I’ll admit [without shame, mind you] that I’ll never be able to afford.

We still have baby Aly at home with us though, so nothing crazy going on in Hickersonia tonight… but it is Friday. This workweek has been amusingly chaotic, and Aly has been up coughing a lot each night, so while I wasn’t particularly stressed-out about things I am glad to have a quiet weekend planned. As I understand it, a monk from Virginia will be at temple Sunday, and I’m hopeful that everybody will be well enough for me to be there.

in the meantime, I think I will settle in early night with my lady and hopefully get some rest tonight.

Be well, friends!

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

