10th Anniversary

I know a lot of people with what seem to be tumultuous marriages. Not many make it five years, and I know a couple who have survived seven or so.

Michelle and I have the distinct pleasure of having been married for 10 years. There have been ups and downs, but I don’t believe I’ve ever met a couple as comfortable with their differences as my wife and I have become.

cheesecake boxYesterday we celebrated our 10 year anniversary by going out to dinner and a little shopping. I selected Cheesecake Factory (and was actually able to keep it a secret until we got to into the place’s parking lot) and I think it was probably the best possible choice I could have made.

While the main point of going there was for cheesecake (a confection from which we both, I admit, derive much enjoyment), we both scored awesome dinners also. Michelle ordered a steak which I’d say they cooked precisely to her specifications, and I ordered a burger which I also thoroughly enjoyed.

The main event, though, had to be the desert. From the moment the idea came to my mind that I would take her there, I had the idea of bringing “too much” cheesecake home, and that is exactly what we did.

cheesecakeAnd as you might see from the picture, we’ve been working hard enjoying it too. Of course, when you have kids in the house, any treat can disappear pretty fast. That, and my wife and I came up with the silly idea that the cheesecake is calorie-free as long as we share with eachother. Ha!

We also sent Aunt Beth home with some since she kindly watched our children while we  were out on our “date.”

Not everyone gets to celebrate ten years with a single significant person… fewer still can be happy doing so. Thank you for reading, friends, and may you be well and I will write again soon!

10 comments

  1. Congratulations! Long may it continue. I am also fortunate to be in a lasting and loving relationship. We also appreciate cheesecake! 😀

    1. Awesome! It is so good to hear that positive, long-term relationships are still possible in today’s absolutely chaotic world. And thank you! Please be well! 🙂

  2. Congratulations friend, yes it is rare these days and always heartening to read of couples like you two 🙂

    1. Thank you for saying so. I hope you are well, friend! 🙂

  3. Massive congratulations to you both :-). It certainly is a wonderful achievement – and one you should be very proud of. It takes a lot of effort and patience and compassion to achieve a harmonious relationship, and that’s obviously something you both have in abundance. With metta, Meg

    1. Thank you for saying so, Meg. 🙂 It is a real shame (you know) that so few people seem willing to commit to that level. It is hard, and that helps prove [to me, at least] that it is worth doing.

  4. Congratulations!

    1. Thank you very much, friend! 🙂

  5. Dennis Beyer · · Reply

    Congrats to you both. Hard to believe its already been 10 years. Doesn’t seem to have been that long 🙂

    1. Funny isn’t it how time passes whether we realize it or not! Thank you Denny. 🙂 I hope you and Kate are well.

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

