Thanksgiving Thoughts

Good morning, friends.

Today I’m off work for what promises to be a very pleasant Thanksgiving holiday. Today my wife’s family will be getting together to eat what will amount to a very large, late lunch, and we will undoubtedly eat more than we ought to throughout the entire day (and my waist is starting to complain as it is). Then we’ll spend the whole of Friday recuperating from it.

I do wonder sometimes why we eat so much as a means of “giving thanks.” The amount of culturally acceptable overeating is actually rather insane from about Halloween through New-Year’s Day; I have even heard on the news that Americans will eat some 50 million turkeys as a result of Thanksgiving festivities.

That is a lot of poor birds slaughtered for our reckless consumption, not to mention the other great multitude of beasts whose lives were destined to end shortly before being offered on the altar of our tongues.

I’m not really trying to put a damper on anyone’s enjoyment of the holiday, but I think we could all be a little more mindful of how we consume. I will be trying to maintain some concept of “enough” this year, partially because I’ve been gaining weight anyway and mostly because I feel distraught at the idea that my attachment to taste may be greater at times than my attachment to sex – something which should worry any man, I suppose.

Enjoy the holiday, but do so with a little more mindfulness. Perhaps we’ll find we’re “full” earlier as a result and can better enjoy the other blessings the day has to offer.

And remember to thank the turkey.

Please be well, friends!

P.S. My wife shared this with me; if you’re looking for a way to kill a few brain cells this morning, enjoy:

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

