Cold Mornings

I woke up very early this morning so that I could allocate a little time to morning Puja before friends arrive with their children for a play-date. I have come to admit to myself that my morning ritual gets a little difficult to maintain when the temperatures get so low, and I haven’t felt like I’ve set aside enough time for it lately, so I set an early alarm clock this morning and pushed myself the extra bit.

Part of the issue, or so I think, is that I try to accommodate my family by not taking up space in the house-proper for such activities, which means I have a space in the garage set aside for it. Unfortunately, there is virtually no heat getting there and 3-degree mornings make it a real challenge to be comfortable for any length of time. Regardless of this discomfort, I still dedicate at least some time each morning to it. Today amounted to a little over 30 minutes, which is pretty close to the usual time I would allot to it on a workday when it isn’t so cold… so I suppose it could be said that the cold doesn’t have to be a problem at all.

I just thought it was sort of interesting how I can make up excuses to not do something to the full extent due to discomfort, yet if I choose to do it anyway I it isn’t as if I would die (or even necessarily get sick). I wonder how much of life is thrown away simply because we find some condition or another mildly uncomfortable.

Further, I wonder how much we can really accomplish if we step outside of that comfort zone, even if only for 30 minutes each day.

Please be well, friends!

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

