More on “Better”

Hello friends.

While things have been busy at work and home, I haven’t completely forgotten about the blog even if I haven’t had anything to post. Being that as it is, I felt compelled today to write a quick update.

I wrote earlier in Better — To What End? that I spend a lot of time just thinking of ways to improve things — particularly at work. I’ve come up with a new process (with an Access database) that is intended to help track work in progress, and we started the initial implementation of it on Friday. I won’t say it went well, but looking back on it today I think it went better than anyone actually expected. In other words, it certainly could have been much worse.

I learn so many new things when I work on a new project like this that, although Adam Savage’s (MythBusters) declaration that “failure is always an option” may ring true, it is never really a complete failure. I try to keep this in the back of my mind when there are problems, no matter how large they may appear initially, because deep down I know that success is more a matter of my mind-state than anything else.

dave-doorAlso work related: My workspace has been in an office directly adjacent to the managers’ offices for several months now, but I had never really felt like it was “my” office so much as it was an office in which my stuff resided. Someone decided that it was time to make the office a little more official, I guess, and now my name is on the wall. Better? I’m not sure, but it is different at least. Additionally, I had my yearly review recently, and suffice it to say, I definitely feel that my efforts in the last year have been rewarded nicely.

100_3385On the home front, we’ve also made a change in the direction of a perceived “better” in that we’ve replaced one of our cars, the 17 year old Lumina, with a 2 year old Cruze. We’re keeping our van as the main family-mover and will use this more just as the to-work-and-back car. I’m really hopeful that this car will be around long enough that Dalton can learn to drive on it (in eight years — yeah, obviously thinking long-term here). We’ll contemplate replacing the van in three or four years, assuming something crazy doesn’t happen first.

In other words, I’m trying to not get too attached to any plans I conjure up, but I think having a plan is still a good idea.

I hope you are well, friends. I will try to write again soon.

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

