Thinking about Weight

Hello friends,

Many of my friends and family will recall that in 2011 and into the very beginning of 2012 I shed between 70 and 80 pounds in a matter of about six months. I never really blogged about the weight loss in and of itself — it was a very difficult time for me and coincided with my “religious conversion,” so the weight loss was more a byproduct of the stress of realigning my mind to a different way of thinking about the world than a conscious determination on my part.

Obviously, such rapid weight loss is rarely completely sustainable, so I’ve gained between 25 and 35 pounds of it back (I’m at 194 today), depending on whether I originally lost 70 or 80 pounds — which, unfortunately, I can’t quite recall with certainty because I wasn’t tracking it at the time. Anyway, a few days ago I decided I was getting fed up with it and made a determination to apply my statistical analysis talents to the subject. This blog post is a part of that determination — a public declaration of sorts that I believe can help me maintain my resolve.

So I’ve developed a tracking spreadsheet into which I set certain targets for the metrics I intend to track. In addition to a daily weigh-in, I’m monitoring in-take of calories, sugar, and fat. I’ve set a calorie target for each day with weekdays being lower (presumably, sitting at a desk all day should not require many calories) than the weekend. Formulas calculate targets likewise for sugar and fat based on the calorie target and a little research on the subject. Then, on separate daily tabs I’m basically keeping a food journal for each day which feeds the main spreadsheet the actual values consumed for each day.

I’ve tried to set targets that are realistic, and I’m trying to keep in line with the Buddhist training in that I mustn’t allow myself to fall into a spiteful or shameful attitude toward myself over it. I know I’m going to overshoot the targets from time to time, particularly on the Christmas and New Years holidays (on which I imagine I will be far too busy to track anything at all). All things considered, I must always remain compassionate toward the body and mind which is to be affected by my intentions, and further, to others with whom I will have contact. This isn’t a “fight” against my weight as much as an acknowledgement that my health could probably be improved by a few, fairly minor changes.

And, with any luck, maybe I’ll be able to fit properly into my 32″ waist pants again in a couple of weeks. We’ll see.

I’ll post an update on this particular subject a little before Christmas, hopefully with a post or two on other matters in-between. Thank you for your encouragement (even if no one comments, I’m sure just posting this is motivation enough). Please be well, friends!

6 comments

  1. Dennis Beyer · · Reply

    Good luck buddy, I’m told a plan an motivation are the first steps toward effectively losing weight. Unfortunately I tend to lack the latter 🙂

    1. Sometimes the best motivation, or inspiration, can be found in one’s spiritual tradition, my friend. That, and one’s family, of course.

      Perhaps we should make a plan to visit sometime — I suspect we could find a great deal to talk about being as how it is has been so long since our last get-together.

      I hope you are well, Denny! 🙂

  2. Wishing you the best of luck on your effort!

    1. Thank you, friend! 🙂 I hope you are well, also!

  3. Thanks for sharing. Have you considered eating only before noon? The buddha taught that it was a good way to stay at a healthy weight. I’ve found it helpful.

    1. Actually, yes. It is a very useful tool in several ways but I’ve found it difficult to maintain on the weekends when literally everyone around me is eating and seem uncomfortable with me if I am not following along. Working evenings makes it easier during the week though.

      I may have to give further thought to this anyway… Thank you. 🙂

Leave a comment

Lungta

The Wind Horse

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic 1966 Ford Mustang v8 Coupe Restoration Guide. Car Detailing. Product Reviews.

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel

A Seeker's Journey to Transform Suffering

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl