Revisiting Weight: April

It may not be entirely obvious, but any hopes I’ve had of substantial weight loss have stalled since February. In fact, until today, I haven’t tracked my calories or weight in 67 days.

I am pleased to be able to report, however, that my weight has remained essentially stable in that time. My spreadsheet reports a gain of 1.8 pounds – not enough to imply an “actual” gain but clear evidence that I haven’t been losing. Well, my pants give me enough feedback every day for me to know that, but it is still good to put numbers to it.

Today I plugged the numbers into my tracker and it appears I’ve consumed 1546 calories, 165 grams of sugar, and 19 grams of fat. There’s that good-ole’ American diet showing itself. The 16oz chocolate malt I had with my wife after work accounts for 29% of the calories and 57% of the sugar for the day. At least I know it for what it is…

That said, even when I abstain from the obviously sugary foods, I’ve found it insanely difficult to stay below even the revised “floating target” I’ve set for sugar ([Calorie Target] X 0.028, or about 48 grams most days) unless I keep the calorie intake below 1200. The target looks almost perfect (a little high, even) according to my reading about what doctors are suggesting for sugar intake. Quite frankly, I think I just got discouraged by it in February and gave up.

Of course, my scale’s batteries going dead, combined with my own apparent laziness, probably helped to encourage the continued mediocrity.

Anyway, I just wanted to make a quick post on this so that I can at least support my assertion that my weight hasn’t completely fallen off my radar even if it hasn’t been what I’d call an “A List” item.

May you be well, friends.

 

Leave a Reply

BuddhistPoetry

Now..... Free... Peace.....

The Art of Manliness

Contemplative Thoughts

One Man And His Mustang

A Classic '66 Ford Mustang Coupe v8 Full Restoration Guide

The Good Sit

An accessible guide to mindfulness meditation

Applied Buddhism

Applying Buddhism to Everyday Living

Lucas Henriksson

A Joyful Heart

Exploring Life

Be kind, be compassionate

Follow the Wheel: Journey of a Modern Wanderer

Camping, hiking, meditating, and philosophizing across America

Buddhist Global Relief

Worldwide relief funded by a Buddhist organization

Harmony In Motion

The universe in the form of a human girl

